The week is almost over my so I think it’s time to consider the results of it. The bottom line is that this week is one of the worst ones I’ve had in at least a year. Every single day went wrong. Like, seriously. Can’t believe it? Well, let’s prove you wrong. Monday: always horrible. Tuesday: even worse. Wednesday: some ugly stupid whore took my spot in the train and I had to stand for almost twenty minutes- and I’m nine months pregnant. Thursday: I had such an incredibly awful school day and even worse headaches and couldn’t even go to my afternoon appointment. Friday: that day was the first one to start off really good when I finally wrote a good test and my class was so damn sweet when they threw a little farewell party for me (I’m leaving the school until the end of February because of my maternity protection) and THEN I came a cropper, how my grams would say it. Normal people would say I fell badly. There actually is a hole in my knee now where a little pebble got stuck when I kissed the duff. Well, at least the baby didn’t get hurt.
But the week wasn’t done after Friday. My aunt and my uncle (not the biological ones) came here for a nice Halloween dinner and a good horror movie afterwards. But if it would have worked that way, I wouldn’t have to tell you about it. As you may know, I currently live in Germany and there are many refugees right now because of great poverty, economy problems, wars and dictatorships in several countries. Unlike most European governments who don’t seem to give a shit about the people suffering from these issues, Germany helps by hosting them in gyms, tents, public institutions like civic centers and purpose-built refugee hostels. But since the number of people coming here has heightened extremely recently, many citizens want to seal up the borders to keep away the people because they’re scared, angry or just idiots. The point is: yes, so many people with so many languages, religions and cultures bring along many different problems, but also many great chances and opportunities for one economy and society. And even though the taxpayers need to pay billions to afford them education and integration programs, studies and prognoses show that this country can definitely make long-term use of their immigration.
But there are those Germans who refuse to help those people who desperately need it because, quote: it’s not our problems what happens to them. Well, that’s not how our world works. We help each other because that’s just what you do when somebody needs help, whether he speaks your language or not, has the same passport or the same skin color. If you’re able to help, you do it. That’s something a five year old knows. But my aunt and uncle obviously don’t. Instead, in their opinion, anybody who wasn’t born here shouldn’t be allowed to live here either. Because of such (and even worse) mindsets we had a fight and I called my aunt’s opinion asocial and because she’s more sensitive than a toddler, she overreacted, got aggressive, felt offended and they both left before the dinner was over. There’s a difference between calling a person and the person’s opinion asocial and that’s what I told her a hundred times as well, but she didn’t wanna hear it. Well, in their opinion I shouldn’t have said anything about the topic anyway. I’m not an adult, so I’m supposed to shut up. It’s disrespectful to tell your opinion when it doesn’t fit with a grown up person’s. You may be able to imagine how pissed they were when they left. And ‘pissed’ is clearly an understatement. The friendship is over now (yes, there are almost 60 year old people who cancel a friendship that lasted for more than 20 years because of one disagreement) and it’s my fault. It doesn’t bother me (it’s sad and disappointing, but not life-changing), but it does bother my mom because they were really close and when they cut me out of their lives, they also cut out my mom. And she doesn’t deserve that. My mom is really awesome and though I think she should choose her friends more wisely, I am really sorry for ruining this friendship. She already has so much stress and worries about way too much and now I made it even worse. I don’t regret what I said, but maybe I should have shut my mouth for her…

Damn, this week is so horrible. Nothing works these days.

leonard, the big bang theory, and black and white image

Leave a Reply

